Framed out burlap covered pin board

So, remember I said that I bought a bunch of burlap at Hobby Lobby…..well I decided to finally make some message/pin boards. I have seen bazillions of burlap covered boards in various shapes, sizes, designs…etc, on Pinterest. With my sweet hubby willing to help and cut the wood, here is what we did.

Materials were:
Burlap of course
Cheap 1×3 wood trim pieces (or whatever you prefer)
Thin canvas drop cloth (or muslin)
1 thin sheet of backer board, similar to bead board but smooth
1 piece of foam board/ insulation (ours was 2ft x 4ft)
-it runs about $2.65 at Home Depot and my husband cut it
in half so that I could create 2, 2 x 2 boards.
Primer, paint, hot glue gun/or staple gun, sand paper…

Mister handy cut the wood to create a simple 2 x 2 frame, then he scored and cut the foam insulation board. Because the insulation in silver on one side and printed on the other, I needed to first cover it with something thin to go under the burlap, since it too is a bit see through. So here is what I used.
image

I cut this to size and glued this onto the board then wrapped it with burlap tight and stapled it down.
imageimage

My husband finished up the frames and created a back board so that the framing could be attached to it for added stability and that way we can also attach hardware for hanging them.

Here they are all framed out, but unpainted. Center board is not permanently affixed inside, popped it in for the picture.
image

Primed, sanded smooth and painted with 2 coats of a creamy white, but not quite finished.
image
I am going to add some twine across the front I think. An extra dimension and it will add a bit of whimsy.

20130921-143552.jpg

The twine is so divine!!!! Did I mention these are gifts…..

20130921-143713.jpg

Leave a Reply

