Barn Doors With Wrought Iron Accent

A few weeks back I went to the very fabulous Paris Street Market with a girlfriend. I found these incredibly ‘chippy’ old barn doors there. Best part was, it was a set of 2, which is exactly what I needed. Also, I loved that the old rusted hardware was still intact.

I had a vision for these doors, to go up above our built-ins that surround our tv. This wall is almost 20 feet tall and its been bare since we moved in……over 4 yrs ago.

While they were perfectly ‘chic’ all on their own, I decided that they needed a little extra element of something, another material or dimension. So, while perusing Hobby Lobby yesterday, I came across these neat looking wrought iron wall decor items. And guess what??? They were all marked 50% off. SCORE! I didn’t want it to cover the entire barn door, rather just accent it. So, handy hubby mounted them on top of the doors for me.

Then, I coated them good with a spray Polycrylic so that I could preserve the natural ‘chippy ness’ and patina of these cool doors.

So here is the before……..

20130924-154747.jpg

And here they are ready to be mounted up on our walls…….(that post to come later).

20130924-154857.jpg

20130924-154912.jpg

20130924-154939.jpg

Leave a Reply

