Paper Book Wreath

Elegant and antique looking paper book wreath

20131117-054316.jpg

With Christmas literally right around the corner, I’ve decided that I really need to get crack-a-lackn’ on some of the crafty ideas (possible gifts) that continue to overflow within my brain. I’ve seen a gazillion different versions of these all over the place, antique stores, flea market fairs, Pinterest….they are all beautiful. So now I must tackle one of these precious wreaths for myself.

First things first, I wanted to locate some books that looked a bit aged……..you know, those yellowing pages? Our front room is the library/piano room, but I’m not actually interested in ripping apart any of our books. So my daughter and I headed to ‘Savers’, it’s sort of like Goodwill. I found 3 different books to rip apart and she actually found 2 books in the series that she is reading, so we won’t be ripping those apart.

Then we headed to Hobby Lobby, my happy place……..aaahhhhhhhhh!!!!!!! We grabbed 2 different sized ‘squared edge’ wreath forms. I’m sure you can use the rounded ones as well, they just felt a bit more firm to me. Grabbed some straight pins and headed to the checkout.

Later, I began ripping out the pages in one of the books and then folded and ripped each page in half. I used a pencil and wrapped up the half page all around the eraser tip and then firmly poked it into the wreath form. Decades ago, in one of my kids classrooms, we did a version of this using material remnants that were cut into small squares and poked them into a small hay type of wreath form as a classroom Christmas craft. This is the same idea, just more delicate.

20131117-055708.jpg

20131117-055727.jpg

You have to be somewhat careful doing this as several times I jammed the pencil in there so firm that the eraser part went right through the paper. I’m sure you could use a glue gun to secure each piece, I just didn’t want to mess with the ‘stringy’ glue bits getting all over the papers, so I pinned them. It’s a bit easier if you work with the inside of the frame first. As you move along it gets more tricky as to where you can actually hold onto the frame to apply enough pressure with the pencil.

20131117-060632.jpg

20131117-060801.jpg

Depending on the size of the wreath form you choose, this is not a speedy process…….start to finish I probably spent 3 1/2 hours total on this sized wreath. It’s a good workout for your fingers, holy cow. But the end result is really darling.

20131117-061114.jpg

Now I will need to find the perfect place to hang it……..

20131117-061209.jpg

2 thoughts on “Paper Book Wreath

Leave a Reply

