Wooden Crate Center Piece

20131202-163850.jpg
Today I completed my decorative crate. I knew I wanted to create this for the Christmas season to sit as the center piece for my dining table. Normally, these crates run $9.99 at Michael’s…….however, the entire batch was erroneously placed on the wrong shelf, which was marked at $6.99. So the lovely cashier gave it to me for the lower price……that, plus my 25% off coupon – SCORE! I started with this, a blank crate.

20131202-164339.jpg
I had several wood stains already on the shelf in my work shop, so I chose Minwax – English Chestnut. It’s one of my fav’s. It’s the perfect wood tone with plenty of warmth. Whipped out a little foam brush and gave the entire crate a good coat of stain inside and out, wiped it down with a rag to remove any remaining stain and set it out on the deck to dry for 24 hours.

20131202-164805.jpg
I also purchased the greenery while at Michael’s…..some pine tree sprigs w/ mini pine cones already attached. However, I felt like it needed a little something else. So, today I was in Hobby Lobby, my happy place, and I saw that all of their knobs and things were 50% off (have I mentioned that I LOVE a good discount?), so I grabbed a cute iron decorative piece and a sweet knob that resembles a clock with Roman numerals.

20131202-165245.jpg
Centered this 2 pieces in the middle (eye balling it of course), drilled my pilot hole and screwed them in. Placed a piece of floral foam in the bottom of the crate, stuck in 3 pillar candles (from the Dollar Tree) and place my sprigs randomly throughout. I added the larger cinnamon scented pine cones at the end. So super simple. These would make fantastic gifts…….hmmmmmmm?????

20131202-165635.jpg

20131202-165648.jpg

2 thoughts on “Wooden Crate Center Piece

Leave a Reply

