10 Bean Soup with Ham (using that big ole’ ham bone)

20140104-172813.jpg

What to do with that left over ham bone from Christmas or New Years????? Soups on! I am a soup girl, and I love all types of soups and I love beans. So whenever my wonderful sister brings the ham for a holiday meal, she leaves the bone with me. What a gal! Soup is one of the easiest things to make for meal time. Most often because it allows you to use up leftovers and just sling them into the pot. In this case, I purchased a pound of dried mixed beans from Sprouts (our local farmers market store). Typically, you want to soak dried beans overnight, but time was not on my side. It was noon and I wanted soup and salad for dinner. So, when I got home, I rinsed the beans well and then boiled them in water for 5 min, turned the heat off and let them sit for an hour. After that hour, I cleaned/rinsed the beans multiple times, until the water is clear.

20140104-173633.jpg

With the beans in a large stock pot, I filled it half way with water and added half of a carton of Organic Vegetable Broth. In went that beautiful ham bone, a few shakes of Bragg sauce (my fav’, liquid aminos, that tastes better than soy sauce…..a must try), 1 tsp of garlic, plenty of pepper and 2 bay leaves. I brought this to a low boil ad let is cook for an hour, reduced the heat and let it simmer for another hour and a half/2 hrs.

20140104-174113.jpg
Then, my wonderful, most beautiful 13 yr old sous chef (my awesome daughter who LOVES to be in the kitchen with me), lovingly peeled and chopped 2 large potatoes, 1/2 of an onion and 1 carrot. We added the onions to the pot right away.

20140104-174449.jpg

Let those simmer for about 30 minutes and then added the potatoes and carrots, as I do not want them to turn to mush.

20140104-174623.jpg

Once those are cooked to your liking, it’s ready to be devoured. My sous chef, also created an amazing salad to go with the soup and we had some delicious whole wheat french bread. So good on a chilly, snowy day. PS, we love to sprinkle some grated Parmesan cheese on top of the soup. Total comfort food, so yummy!!!!

Leave a Reply

