Stunning Buffet, Completely Chic

In my last post, I shared some pics of a buffet/sideboard that I was in the process of transforming for a client. Just completed it this morning and I am tickled with the results. I know she will love this piece as well. It’s going to be difficult to let it go.

20140222-094237.jpg
After 2 coats of my new favorite blue, ‘Distance’, I gently and elegantly distressed it. I don’t like to go crazy with the distressing……… I’d rather see subtle elements of it here and there.

20140222-094528.jpg

20140222-094538.jpg
After the sanding, I used some java brown glaze on it. I apply it with a cheap ‘chip’ brush and wipe it off with utility paper towels. I also use unscented baby wipes to control the depth, removing as needed and reapplying more if necessary. It’s really all about preference. The legs on his piece have wonderful detail and I love to see the pop of glaze in all the nooks and crannies.

20140222-094739.jpg

20140222-094759.jpg
I let the glaze dry over night and then applied 2 coats of Polycrylic (satin/clear) on the top and one coat on the rest. My client will be using this as a bar area, so durability is key.

20140222-095221.jpg
All of the hardware was brought back to life with a hearty scrub and major polishing using Brasso. The hardware went from dark and dreary to bright and shiny. So classy looking………Love me some Brasso!!!!!!! You can see the major difference. My client is picking up tomorrow, so I will be praying for her to be delighted with it. I always love creating special pieces for people to enjoy for years to come. That’s the total blessing.

20140222-095431.jpg

2 thoughts on “Stunning Buffet, Completely Chic

Leave a Reply

