French Provincial, Shabby Chic, Curvy Front Dresser Makeover

Things have been so busy around here, and before I knew it……I had 4 pieces of furniture waiting to be rehabbed. Time to get my butt in gear. First in line, this darling gem. Solid wood, 9 drawer dresser. Though I could totally see using it as a buffet/sideboard/server, and that is exactly how I will list it. Those are my ‘go to’ pieces, as they are incredibly versatile. (And they tend to sell super quick, always a bonus).

20140306-055542.jpg
She has been sitting in my garage for almost 2 weeks. From a distance, it would seem as though she doesn’t need much. But this was used in a teen girls bedroom and the top had all sorts of stains on it from drinks, nail polish, stickers remains….etc. So always, I clean my pieces first with any type of degreaser. Then, a good sanding and wipe away the dust. Normally, I would prime after that, however this piece looked to have been painted with chalk paint and didn’t required a primer. Something to think about folks, chalk paint (be it name brand or homemade) is almost always sealed with wax. Because of this, you have to remove the wax before you paint over it…..or the paint will not stick. A good once over with some sand paper will remove the wax.
My last few pieces I finished in that amazing blue, ‘Distance’ (by Behr), so I decided to go a different route with this frenchy piece. Appropriately so……I decided on a french grey color, ‘Sparrow’ (by Behr). I prefer an eggshell finish in the Behr standard, zero VOC enamel. Not the paint plus primer.

20140306-063032.jpg

20140306-063050.jpg
I think I will trim out some of the white (in ‘Pot of cream’ by Behr) for added detail/dimension, before distressing, glazing and waxing.

20140306-063402.jpg
Original hardware will go right back on, so elegant. Hoping to post the final reveal with in the next day or 2. Thanks for stopping by :@)

One thought on “French Provincial, Shabby Chic, Curvy Front Dresser Makeover

  1. Pingback: New Wood Projects | The-Woodworks-Site

Leave a Reply

