Gettin’ My Spring On…….

Suffice it to say…….I’m over the cool, cold, chilly willy weather. I say, “Bring The Spring” already. As I sit at my kitchen table, we have a rain/snow mix rockin outside and it’s a lovely 36 degrees. I mean…….really?

Now that the reds, greens, golds, silver and glitter of Christmas are gone, I am so ready for for the cheery happy colors of spring. It may be ‘Brown Town’ outside (since everything except our blue spruce trees is brown)……I’m gettin my spring on.

20140307-122202.jpg
I had a slew of styrofoam balls left over from Christmas. I anticipated making cute ornaments to give away to friends and neighbors, but got side tracked with an alternate gift idea and stashed these away. So while in Hobby Lobby a few weeks ago I grabbed several packages of this lovely green sheet moss.

20140307-122533.jpg
Got out my glue gun and went to town. I just ripped pieces of the sheet moss apart and hot glued it on. (FYI – super messy). My kitchen island looked like I had a full on gardening session…….dirt, grassy remnants everywhere. But totally worth it, cheap (one of my favorite words…….other than ‘free’) and easy.

20140307-122911.jpg
I place all of them inside a large glass cloche that I got ages ago from PB on final clearance. I tucked in some dried roses here and there……and waa -laa. Let the cheery begin.
Flowers are my favorite, they make me happy and I am sort of addicted. Pretty artificial flowers are a quick fix for helping me to get my spring on. While strolling through the decor section of Wal-Mart, I came across these pretty pink and white flowers. I added a few that I already had and loved how they brightened up my kitchen table. (I’m thinking my brown burlap runner needs to go away for a while……. So I’m going to make another.)

20140307-123821.jpg

20140307-123833.jpg
I also found these precious little Easter eggs in a bunch at my grocery store yesterday. So I plopped a few here and there in my dining room inside some of my china.

20140307-124022.jpg

20140307-124037.jpg

20140307-124122.jpg
Maybe, with the right attitude, spring will come knockin’ at my door sooner, as opposed to later. One can dream, right???

Leave a Reply

