Re-Dunk-u-Lus Gluten Free Chocolate Brownie Cookies………OMG!!!

20140310-090723.jpg

My 13 yr. old daughter, lives to be in the kitchen. Seriously, she has become my little sous chef and quite the baker. I love to cook, so having her in the kitchen with me is such a wonderful bonus. (That, plus the fact that she is our only girl…..and we have 5 kids). So it’s always special time chatting with her. Any who……she found a recipe for these ridiculously delicious chocolate cookies. I wish I could credit the inventor, but I have no idea where it came from.

I must also comment that no one in my household has a gluten intolerance. We made these because it was very few ingredients and we had a Sams Club sized bag of Ghirardelli chocolates in the pantry. Last week we made a batch for my sister in law who is HIGHLY gluten intolerant. This was the first time that we have made them using half chocolate and half white chocolate. Bomb-diggity!!!!! And can you believe how pretty and full they are????? WITH ZERO FLOUR!!!!!!

20140310-090840.jpg

We have tweeked the recipe a bit and here is how we make them.

Preheat oven to 350. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a bowl, mix together-
1/2 cup white sugar & 1/2 cup brown sugar w/ 1/2 cup coconut oil. (Or you can use butter, we prefer coconut oil and we melt it a bit in the microwave). To this add 1 egg, 1tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt and a small drizzle dizzle (sorry, it must be said) of canola oil. Mix it well. After this add 1 cup of cocoa powder and 3/4 cup chocolate chips (any flavor you prefer). Mix well again. The consistency will seem odd, just keep mixing. It will look like a large chocolate blob…….and that’s how it should look.

Roll into 1 inch balls and flatten just slightly when u place them on the pan. One batch makes about 17-20 cookies. Bake them for 8-9 minutes and enjoy. Seriously…….My favorite cookies ever!!!! Also, my neighbor shared a fun tip with me last yr (and I had never heard of this), if you place homemade cookies in a Tupperware container and place a slice of bread on top of them…..the cookies stay soft and moist). Totally works, I do this every time now. The bread helps to maintain the moisture. However, if you truly are gluten intolerant, clearly you would not want the slice of bread in there.

20140310-092415.jpg

I’ll have to wait several more weeks before enjoying some of these again. I have given up sweets for lent. But I refuse to give up my small squirt of Agave Nectar in my single cup of coffee in the morning.

20140310-092602.jpg

I can smell them now!!!!!!

2 thoughts on “Re-Dunk-u-Lus Gluten Free Chocolate Brownie Cookies………OMG!!!

Leave a Reply

