Empire Chic Set – HIghboy Dresser and Desk/Vanity

Realizing it has been some time since my last post (and even longer since my last furniture recreation). Alas, I have completed and listed this stunning set for sale.

IMG_1405.JPG

I actually picked these up some time ago, but was so busy recreating pieces for other clients that these lovelies had to sit aside for quite a while. I love the pineapple carved trim and detail they have and this is what drew me to the set in the first place. They are excellent quality, solid cherry pieces, dove tailed drawers and made by Virginia House Cherry company.

IMG_1402.JPG

IMG_1394.JPG

And the process began, cleaning, sanding, priming and painting. The French linen color is one of my favorites, Behr – Ashwood, and the creamy white is Behr – Polished Pearl. It was indeed time consuming taking extra care with the white on the carved detail pieces…….but soooooo worth the effort in the end. I just think it adds a special touch, as opposed to one solid color.

IMG_1408.JPG

IMG_1409.JPG

Both were elegantly distressed, glazed and waxed. An added bonus was the fact that all of the original, vintage crystal knobs were in tact. So classy.

I have 2 buffets also awaiting transformation……hope to be completing and posting those soon. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

