Antique-ee Junky Finds

image

So, I mentioned before that I have been working with my new friend who is preparing to launch a Farm to Table Inn. I have been helping her by resourcing certain pieces for her place. Its always the thrill of the hunt. And when you stumble upon that perfect peace, its like sweet victory….. Especially at the right price. I didn’t want to start screaming and shouting “hallelujah” in the antique mall as people probably would have looked at me like I was some sort of lunatic.

image

This awesome trunk didn’t know it at the time, but in its new life it would serve as a great coffee table. Formerly, it was constructed in 1942 by Fisher Price and it was used as a medical trunk. It even has the old cool red crosses still visible on the sides of the wood…… Love love love. And so did my client.
So I brought her home, cleaned her up good, scrubbed the inside, sanded down the rough splintery, exterior wood, added some cool locking caster wheels…..and waa-laa. Awesome coffee table for her farmhouse unit.

image

Love the authentic, dented, stainless steel top .

image

image

In a different vintage antique store, I stumbled upon the most perfect antique ladder. This will be mounted partially to the wall in her bathroom to hold bath towels and hand towels and what not…..

image

This is in the store, the picture is a little blurry.

image

And here it is in my house…… Picture, not so blurry this time.  I also resourced some fantastic nightstands. It was truly the score, price wise, of the century. These nightstands would easily sell for over $100 a piece in a good antique store. Got them both for under $100.

image

This is a slight glimpse of the drop leaf kitchen table that I rehabbed for her (picture is prior to rehab)….you can see the table use to be an old black color.

image

Then I gave it a good cleaning, sanding, priming, and two different colors of paint. We mimicked the wall color and her white trim so the top of the table is white with an antique glaze and the base of the table is a pretty soft grey also with an antique glaze.

image

image

image

All is coming together quite nicely. I look forward to posting photos sometime soon after her launch.

Leave a Reply

