French Farmhouse Coffee Table

Recently, I listed/sold this fabulous farmhouse buffet to a fun gal who truly lives ON A Farm!!!! They have horses, yaks, dogs….etc. And they are rehabbing the entire place. The pictures are amazing. She asked me to rehab an old coffee table (that belonged to her parents years before) and finish it in the same manner as the buffet.

Totally out of character for me, I completely forgot to snap a picture of the before. The top had years of wear, yuck and gunk that had to be sanded, scrubbed and stripped, several times, with Citrustrip.
IMG_1566.JPG
This is after all of the grime removal…….that wood grain……beautiful!!!!

On went 2 coats of Jacobean stain on top, followed by 3 coats of Polycrylic for ultimate durability. The base of the table got 2 coats of the same DIY, soft black chalk paint that I applied to the buffet. A little distressing and a good coat of dark wax to seal the deal on this baby. My client picked up today and was just delighted…….that’s always the greatest compliment.

IMG_1567.JPG

IMG_1568.JPG

IMG_1569.JPG

Next up, she wants me to recreate this old chicken box/coop that she dropped off to me today. She wants to use it as a side table……oh, the ideas that I have. Her words to me, “Use your imagination and do whatever you want.” WOW!!!! Should be fun.

IMG_1570.JPG

Leave a Reply

