5 Minute Prep – Crock Pot Christmas Day Bread

Merry Christmas all!!!

Quite some time ago I shared a post about the ‘Crusty No -Knead’ bread that I have baked several times. It’s a great recipe (found here) and you can create many variations. Hands down, the best crusty bread EVER. So when time permits, I mix up a batch in the evening, let it rise over night and bake it in my dutch oven the next morning.

Today, I was wanting some homemade bread to go along with our fettuccine Alfredo that I am making tonight. Time, however, is not on my side. I have read many recipes about baking break in your crockpot. So after scrolling Pinterest for a bit, I landed upon this recipe (found here). No kneading, no rising, mix it up and plop it into your crockpot for 2 1/2 hrs.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/8f5/57180809/files/2014/12/img_1624.jpg

I must admit that I did not exactly measure the herbs and spices…..a few shakes of each and I called it good. I also read a few posts that used parchment paper on the bottom of the crockpot, instead of oiling the entire thing. This makes clean up a breeze……because there is no clean up.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/8f5/57180809/files/2014/12/img_1623.jpg

So, if you’re wanting bread on the fly…..this is a great go to. I heated up the crockpot while mixing up the ingredients, dumped the dough onto a piece of parchment paper, set it inside the crockpot, prepared the lid/paper towels as recommended and 2 1/2 hrs later……I had warm, yummy bread. And the house smells wonderful.

May you all enjoy a blessed day!

Leave a Reply

