Vintage Chicken Coop Table

image

A client of mine left this old chicken coop with me when she picked up her french farmhouse coffee table that I rehabbed for her. This was a ‘found’ object on her farm….what a bonus. Forever,  I have been wanting to get my hands on an old coop. My clients only request to me, “Have fun & do whatever you want to it”…..alrighty then.

This is where it began…..dirty,  wood peeling/warped and in need of a little tweeking.

image

First things first,  a super good cleaning and a ton of sanding. This wood is super rough. I knew that she wanted to use it as some sort of table. Typically,  you will see these re purposed into coffee tables. …but I had just completed her coffee table and she wanted this to be more of a buffet/against the wall type of table.

image

image

The solid wood backing was very split and peeling. So I took a chance and got busy peeling the entire first layer off. Hello SPLINTERS!!! After another good sanding and cleaning,  I decided on a creamy white (DIY) chalk paint. Handy hubby added a strip of wood to each end of what would be the bottom, so that I could attach some large locking casters to it. I LOVE caster wheels….they are just totally cool & practical.

image

3 coats paint, inside and out, and then a bit of distressing was in order. I didn’t go bazurk. …just enough to age it a bit. After that was completely cleaned up, I brushed on a good coat of dark wax. (Minwax makes an awesome finishing paste wax….super reasonable too.  I order mine from Amazon here). A fraction of the cost of all the popular boutique brands.  I finished it off with a piece of pre-cut glass from Home Depot and a decorative knob that I picked up from Hobby Lobby.

image

image

image

image

image

Overall, just a fun, funky and unexpected piece.

Leave a Reply

