Classic Vintage Buffet in Navy

So, it’s been a while……..actually a LONG while since I have posted anything. My wordpress account is probably stunned. Shocked that it’s being used. Haaaaa. After sharing our ‘Carrara marble backsplash’ post avter Christmas, I really could no longer stand the khaki color on the walls that run through the entire open area of our home. What’s a girl to do, you ask? Paint!!! And that’s what I’ve been doing…..my ‘grey/gray’ adventure is to come in another post.

What I listed yesterday for sale is this gem. Finished in Hale Navy (a BM color, but mixed in Behr eggshell) and topped with a wipe on polyurethane. Normally, I use a waterbased Polycrylic, however on a dark finished/non distressed piece it can tend to show the bubbles and brush strokes.  The wipe on polyurethane gets applied with a lint free rag, takes a solid 24 hrs to cure, but gives excellent protection.  I used gold ‘Rub n’ Buff’ on the hardware……OMG, I love that stuff.  Normally, I use Brasso on tarnished hardware but it wasn’t cutting the mustard this time.  I really needed/wanted gold and the Rub n’ Buff is more like a paint/wax in one.

  

Classic vintage appeal is perfect and the color is super neutral. Looks like a marine in their ‘dress blues’.  Typically, my finishes lean more to the farmhouse chic look, weathered/distressed/waxed. But the elegant clean lines of this vintage piece did not lend itself to that particular look. For this beauty, uniform and simple were key.

   

     

(Yes, that is a glimpse in the background of the new color running throughout our home. It’s another BM color, Winterwood.  Loving it!)

And of course……the before picture of this buffet pre-rehab.

  

The new and improved look is far better.

   

 

2 thoughts on “Classic Vintage Buffet in Navy

    • Thank you for the kind comments. Sadly, I cannot recall the manufacturer. It was definitely a vintage piece….I feel like it was possibly a Drexel piece? The client who purchased this from me wanted to use it in her basement as an entertainment center for her flat screen. Best of luck to you.
      Thanks,
      Crissa

Leave a Reply

