Pottery Barn Table with Farmhouse Finish

image

As I mentioned in my last post, I have been working on rehabbing this super farmhouse table, originally from Pottery Barn. I resourced the table off of craigslist for my sweet brother and his wife. Recently, they completely gutted and transformed their entire kitchen and it is incredible. However, the nice table that they have is a bit too wide for the new space.  So, this solid pine table (listed at a very sweet price) will become their replacement table.

If you know Pottery Barn furniture, they carry nicer, high quality products. This table being one of them. Its 100% solid pine, with those big, beautiful chunky legs. Perfect candidate for a rehab. 

image

This is where it began, almost 4 hours of sanding with multiple grits of sand paper, my palm sander, and plenty of elbow grease. We (my brother and sister in law) had chatted and I knew I wanted to res
tain the top and paint the legs and skirt of the table. LAYERS of stain/varnish had been applied in the factory. After lots of sanding, the most wonderful thing happened……

image

image

Beautiful pine was just begging for a new look. The variation of color and knots in the wood were so pretty. First, I applied some good wood conditioner. I highly recommend this on softer woods that you plan on restaining. It opens the grain and allows the stain to penetrate more evenly.
Then I applied 2 coats of Jacobean stain (Minwax). Its deep, dark and rich.

image

Love, Love, Love Jacobean! After 24 hours, I applied my 1st coat of wipe on Polyurethane, let that dry and lightly sand with a 220 grit sand paper, wipe down WELL with tack cloths and then I applied a 2nd coat of the wipe on Polyurethane.
Now for the legs…..I mixed up a batch of DIY chalk paint using Behr/Polished Pearl (it’s the look-a-like for AS Old White) & some Calcium Carbonate dissolved in some water, this gets added to my paint. I did clean & lightly sand the legs to remove any sheen. The paint went on beautifully. The legs and skirt/apron of the table received 2 coats of paint.

image

After curing for 24 hrs, I tastefully distressed the paint. Always, for me, less is more. Not too heavy on the distressing.

image

Then I applied a coat of Minwax/Dark Finishing Paste wax and buffed it to a hard, soft sheen. And then I applied a coat of Minwax/clear Finishing Paste Wax and buffed that to a hard, soft sheen.  The table was now ready for its new home.

image

image

image

Turned out so pretty and my brother and his wife are delighted…..Amen! My own kitchen table is an authentic pine,  reclaimed barnwood table. I keep looking at it and can’t help but wonder if I should transform it the same way. Hmmmmmmm???.

Leave a Reply

