DIY – Framed Canvas with Scripture

image

My kiddos just went back to school…boo -hoo…it’s entirely too quiet here now. I miss them already.

I have had some projects on my mind all summer, so today I got busy on one in particular. Some time ago I picked up 2 larger wrapped canvas (on sale of course) and stuck them in my work shop. These are 16 × 20.

I decided I wanted the backdrop of the canvas really dark, so I painted on 2 coats of Behr, Stealth Jet (it’s a copy cat/similar shade to AS Graphite). I love the depth of the charcoal grey within the black. So it’s not a stark jet black.

image

Initially, I did not intend to frame it out, but I wanted the added dimension. I remembered seeing some small left over trim pieces that my hubby had in the garage. The width of the trim happen to be ‘spot on’ for the edges of the canvas. After some measuring and a handy saw, I made my cuts as needed. And no, they are not miter cut. I’m just not that skilled really. I stained the wood strips with Minwax Special Walnut, let them dry while I munched on some lunch and then attached them to the canvas. Sooo super easy, I promise.

image

image

Using a very small drill bit, I made a pilot hole for the small wood screws that I put in. No measuring here, I just eyeballed it. I was not going for perfection…..rather, instant gratification.

I love sweet quotes and good scripture. I played around on paper for a bit with how I wanted the placement of the words. I used stencils for the bold print and freehanded  the other words.

image

Using a pencil to trace and a ruler for even spacing, I traced the bold print. After that, I used everyday creamy white latex paint and a small brush to paint those letters.

image

A steady hand is key. Probably best not to do this while jacked up on caffeine.  The gold cursive letters were done with a Craft Smart gold paint pen. I used a pencil to write it out first and then went over it with the paint pen.

image

image

image

image

Very pleased with how it turns out. And the scrpiture….it’s from Micah 6:8. I may add that to the bottom, as well as possibly distress it. I’ll look at it for a bit a then decide. I do love the rustic element of framing around it. I will totally do that again.

Leave a Reply

