Paper Mache Deer Head Decor

I was on the ‘hunt’ for a good deal. While scoping things out in Hobby Lobby, I came across this fun deer head decor. It was the last one on the shelf. A single shot landed him right in my cart.

But seriously, I have been wanting a faux stag head mount for some time. I actually scored this for about $15 using a 40% off coupon at Hobby Lobby. Its been sitting in my workshop for many months. I wasn’t exactly sure how I wanted to paint it or where I wanted to put it.

I decided to paint the head a basic white and I used a gold paint pen to make the antlers gold.

image

image

image

I have seen these framed and/or mounted clean onto the wall. Felt like it need another dimension to it. So I created a wood backing, using remnant fence wood that we have stacked up in the back yard.

image

I actually used my ever favorite Gorilla Glue to glue the back pieces together side by side. I let that dry really well for a couple of days. Then I cut 2 other pieces to line both outer sides (covering the uneven edges of the back pieces) and I screwed those onto the boards. This made it even more stable.

image

You can see the uneven pieces here on the back. Then I eyeballed where I wanted the deer head to sit on the backdrop, loaded it up with Gorilla Glue and stuck it on.

image

image

I let this dry well overnight. Today, I created a wire hanger for the back and decided on a location for the deer to hang.

image

And here is where he landed…..up above my front door.

image

image

image

Whimsical funky chic….totally my style.

Leave a Reply

