In The Navy……Hale Navy that is.

image

Can you hear me singing hallelujah? I know I’m repeating myself, but I’m totally loving all things navy these days. I acquired this piece from a delightful woman who was down sizing and unloading of several pieces of funiture. I ended up grabbing the china cabinet as well,  (that transformation to come later), but it completely matches this buffet. So here is where it began.

image

I adore serpentine, curvy front, pieces of furniture. So when I spotted this beauty, it was a no brainer. As mentioned, I knew I was going with DIY chalk paint using Hale Navy. Seriously, it’s so versatile and way more neutral than most might think.  Makes me love it that much more. After a good cleaning, the body received 2 coats of paint.

image

The top had several scratches and I wanted it a bit deeper, so I sanded it down and gave it 2 coats of Jacobean and a good coat of polyurethane for protection.

image

And then I let it sit for a day, drying and curing, but also deciding how I wanted to finish it. So, I typically have to walk away from a piece and return multiple times before deciding. I knew I was going to revive the hardware with gold Rub n’ Buff. Each of the drawers have a detailed trim, so I thought it would be fun to add a distressed gold to that trim. I literally rubbed the Rub n’ Buff on with my finger.

image

After gently distressing the edges, I then used antiquing glaze and applied that all over the body of the piece, wiping it off right after applying. This added a great depth to the gorgeous navy. After that dried well, I applied a good coat of Minwax Finishing Paste Wax. Its my favorite.

image

The hardware got a nice coat of gold Rub n’ Buff…..what a stellar transformation. And the end result…drum roll please…..

image

image

image

image

image

image

So utterly gorgeous. I have it listed for sale, but am contemplating keeping it.

6 thoughts on “In The Navy……Hale Navy that is.

    • Hi there,
      So, I mix/make my own chalk paint. Have been doing this for years and it works beautifully. There are many recipes out there, but my ‘go to’ ingredient is Clacium Carbonate. It’s a powder based dietary supplement that I purchase at the Natural Grocer. One jar will last you a long time, depending on how much furniture you are painting. In a small container, place about 3-4 TBLS of the powder, add a little bit of warm water and mix well until it dissolves. I pour (literally eyeballing) about a cup or so of paint (my tried and true favorite is Behr Premium latex flat or matte finish) into a plastic container, pour in the calcium carbonate mixture and mix well into the paint. That’s it, your ready to paint your piece. Dries nicely with that awesome vintage appeal and it sands easily for distressing. If you’re not worried about further wear of distressing, no need to seal it. Otherwise, if youre wanting to preserve the finish I would do a coat of wax or wipe on poly. I always clean my furniture pieces really well before painting. And I use a high quality brush as well. If you anticipate using a white or very light colored paint and you are painting over an old/vintage stain, I would encourage using a primer prior to painting. Dated, vintage and cherry type stains will likely bleed through your paint color. Since I was going navy with this buffet I knew I could omit the priming step. And yes, sadly this piece sold within 24 hours. Hope this helps.
      Thanks so much,
      Crissa Clark

      • So, but of a typo as I reread my response… it’s tsp…not Tbls. So sorry about that. If you’ve never painted anything before, go cheap on a furniture purchase (Craigslist, Goodwill…etc) to get your feet wet. The blessing, it’s only paint. Good luck, you’ll do great.

Leave a Reply

